Research Platform Repositioning of Women''s and Gender History

The research platform "Repositioning of Women's and Gender History in an Altered European Context. Networking – Resources – Projects" was established at the University of Vienna in 2006. It builds upon resources and facilities that specialists in women's and gender history have successfully initiated at the University of Vienna.

The most important task of the research platform is its work to intensify interfaculty and interdisciplinary cooperation and increase or institutionalise international networking. In addition, the primary aims include focusing on a methodologically sound account of European women's and gender history that considers the historiographical changes and challenges since 1989: our knowledge of national and regional history had broadened, just as the perspectives of common European problems have changed.

The research platform makes available various instruments and facilities established at the University of Vienna, thus enabling historians to comment on this process of radical change, to preserve recollections and to initiate transnational research work.

The three pillars of the research platform are
* the journal "L'HOMME. Z. F. G. - European Journal of Feminist History" and its two series of publications, in which the most recent research results are presented and discussed,

* the "Sammlung Frauennachlässe" (Collection of Women's Estates) together with the projects “Sprache und Erinnerung in Frauentagebüchern des 20. Jahrhunderts ” (Language and Memory in Women's Diaries in the 20th Century) and "Liebe in Paarkorrespondenzen" (Love in Couples' Correspondence; FWF financed)

* as well as the virtual "Salon 21" as a central instrument for establishing networks.


You can find further information in this article:

Edith Saurer, Michaela Hafner und Li Gerhalter, The Research Platform "Repositioning of Women's and Gender History” at the University of Vienna. In: Genre & Histoire, n°7 | Automne 2010

Forschungsplattform Neuverortung der Frauen- und Geschlechtergeschichte

 

Die Forschungsplattform "Neuverortung der Frauen- und Geschlechtergeschichte im veränderten europäischen Kontext. Vernetzung – Ressourcen – Projekte" wurde 2006 an der Universität Wien eingerichtet. Sie baut auf Ressourcen und Einrichtungen auf, die Frauen- und Geschlechterhistorikerinnen am Institut für Geschichte der Universität Wien erfolgreich initiiert haben.

Wichtigste Aufgabe der Forschungsplattform ist die Arbeit im Hinblick auf intensivierte interfakultäre und interdisziplinäre Kooperation sowie auf eine verstärkte bzw. institutionalisierte internationale Vernetzung. Zu den primären Zielen gehört weiters die Fokussierung auf eine methodisch abgesicherte europäische Frauen- und Geschlechtergeschichte, die den historiographischen Veränderungen und Herausforderungen seit 1989 Rechnung trägt: Das Wissen um nationale und regionale Geschichte hatte sich ebenso erweitert, wie sich die Perspektiven auf gemeinsame europäische Probleme verändert hatten.

Die Forschungsplattform stellt einige an der Universität Wien aufgebaute Instrumente und Einrichtungen zur Verfügung, die es erlauben, diesen Prozess radikaler Veränderung zu kommentieren, Erinnerungen zu bewahren und transnationale Forschungsarbeiten in die Wege zu leiten.

Die drei Säulen der Forschungsplattform bilden

* die Fachzeitschrift "L'HOMME. Europäische Zeitschrift für Feministische Geschichtswissenschaft" und ihre beiden Schriftenreihen, in welcher die neuesten Forschungsergebnisse präsentiert und diskutiert werden,

* die "Sammlung Frauennachlässe" mit den Projekten "Sprache und Erinnerung in Frauentagebüchern des 20. Jahrhunderts" und "Liebe in Paarkorrespondenzen" (FWF)

* sowie der virtuelle "Salon 21" als zentrales Instrument der Netzwerkbildung.


Weitere Informationen zur Forschungsplattform finden sich im Artikel:
Edith Saurer, Michaela Hafner und Li Gerhalter, The Research Platform "Repositioning of Women's and Gender History” at the University of Vienna. In: Genre & Histoire, n°7 | Automne 2010