Ludwig Senfl – Research Projects

2008–2014 – A Catalogue Raisonné of the Works and Sources (Senfl Catalogue)
2015–2018 – Collected Works (New Senfl Edition) I: Motets for 4 and 5 voices


Ludwig Senfl – A Catalogue Raisonné of the Works and Sources (Senfl Catalogue)

(FWF P 20820; P 23707)

Up to the present day, the editions by Theodor Kroyer (1903) and the Ludwig Senfl, Sämtliche Werke (1937–74) have served as the main works of reference for investigation into the musical œuvre of Ludwig Senfl (c. 1490–1543). Both of them – intended as complete editions – remained unfinished and thus cover only part of his œuvre. Based on the current state of research, they provide an incomplete picture of the transmission of Senfl’s works. Due to the lack of information, comprehensive and thorough research on the most important Renaissance composer of the German-speaking lands during the first half of the 16th century has remained difficult.
Research conditions improved with Birgit Lodes’ article “Senfl” (MGG2). On the basis of her worklist the research project “Ludwig Senfl – Verzeichnis sämtlicher Werke“ / “Ludwig Senfl – A Catalogue Raisonné“ (P20820–G13; beginning: 1 September 2008) aimed at defining the repertoire of Senfl’s works and at publishing a catalogue raisonné. Due to extensive research on catalogues and source material, it was possible to revise and amend B. Lodes’ worklist and to present a detailed catalogue of the works and sources of Ludwig Senfl. The tracing of Senfl’s compositions in more than 350 sources documents the importance attributed to Senfl during his lifetime as well as during the second half of the 16th century.

The follow-up project continued this previous research and concentrated on important aspects of the catalogue which could not be dealt with earlier, as the amount of sources unexpectedly increased by 100%. Apart from further identifying anonymously transmitted pieces by Senfl, this included brief characterisations of the individual compositions (concerning authorship and musical structure), musical incipits, as well as the documentation of related settings by contemporary composers. Moreover, questions of reception were dealt with in order to draft a picture of the transmission of individual works and patterns of dissemination. A systematic evaluation of the secondary literature will – among other uses – offer a survey of the rediscovery of Senfl in the 19th and 20th centuries.

While preparing the printed catalogue of works and sources basic research findings have already been provided in the online database. Both publications form the indispensable basis for a new complete edition of the works of Ludwig Senfl and shall serve as a comprehensive work of reference for scientists of various disciplines.

Project-related activities of the project staff are listed under the menu item Archive.

Head: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Birgit Lodes
Researchers: Mag. Dr. Stefan Gasch, Mag. Sonja Tröster

Duration: 2008–2015
The project was funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) and based alternately at the University of Vienna and the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW).


Ludwig Senfl, Sämtliche Werke (New Senfl Edition) I:
Die Motetten für 4 und 5 Stimmen

(FWF P 27469)

On the basis of the new catalogue raisonné, the present project aims at an edition of all of Senfl's compositions. The first module started in April 2015 and prepares the motets for 4 and 5 voices for publication. As only very few of Senfl's motets have so far appeared in modern transcription, this repertoire is hitherto barely known and accessible. The volumes of the edition will be published in the reknowned series Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich.

Head: Mag. Dr. Stefan Gasch
Researchers: Dr. Scott Edwards, Dr. Sonja Tröster

Scott Edwards, Stefan Gasch, Sonja Tröster (New Senfl Edition)

The project is funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF). Duration: 2015–2018.